Breaking News News

BREAKING: Khartoum unveil new power sharing proposal

Face-to-face meeting as it started (File photo)
Face-to-face meeting as it started (File photo)

July 10th 2018 (Nyamilepedia) – The Sudanese government has this evening unveiled a new power sharing proposal that similarly look as the recent Entebbe proposal unveiled by Museveni and Bashir last week on main issues which include the South Sudan Presidency during the transitional period and the South Sudan Parliament.

According to the new power sharing proposal which has been named by the mediators as “The Post-Entebbe Draft” seen by the Nyamilepedia, the incumbent President, Salva Kiir Mayardiit would lead the Transitional Government of National Unity, Machar would be reinstated as the First Vice President of the country.

The government would nominate the second and the third Vice Presidents and the fourth one would be nominated by the other opposition groups in the country.

However, the proposal did not mentioned that the incumbent first vice president, Taban Deng Gai and the incumbent vice president James Wani Igga would be nominated, but only said Kiir’s government would nominate the second and the third vice presidents.

On the ministerial portfolios, the government would retain the current 30 ministers and the opposition groups would divide an additional 15 ministerial positions as follow.

2 ministerial positions to be added to the SPLM-IO’s initial 10 and so as to be 12. The South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA) to have 2 and other opposition parties (OPP) to have 1.

As for the South Sudan Parliament, the current one will be extended to be a 450 member chamber with the government to retain the lion’s share or 300 seats, Machar’s SPLM-IO to have 100, SSOA to have 40 seats and OPP to have 10.

The Council of states shall also be extended and a number of twenty seats to be added and the opposition groups participating in the talks would be given seats as follow: SPLM-IO to have 40 seats, SSOA to have 5 seats, OPP to have 3 seats and the Former Detainees to have 2 seats.

The power sharing, both in the national and state governments remains 55% for the government, SPLM-IO 25%, SSOA 10%. and OPP 10%.

Related posts

South Sudan lawmaker resigns citing corruption practices


Omar Al-Bashir wife rearrested to face more corruption charges


SPLA-IO Recaptured Nasir, Upper Nile State


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: