Press Release

SPLM/A (IO) Diplomatic Corps thank Ethiopia and other stakeholders for the Release of Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon

For immediate Release,

Rebel leader Dr. Riek Machar Teny (L) South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardiit (C) and Ethiopian Prime Minister Dr. Abiy Ahmed (R) posting for a photo after the face-to-face meeting in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on 20th June 2018 (File photo)
Rebel leader Dr. Riek Machar Teny (L) South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardiit (C) and Ethiopian Prime Minister Dr. Abiy Ahmed (R) posting for a photo after the face-to-face meeting in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on 20th June 2018 (File photo)

June 22, 2018(Nyamilepedia) —– This morning at about 7:35 AM East Africa local time, Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon – Chairman and Commander-in-Chief of the SPLM/A (IO) touched down in Addis Ababa, after spending the last year and half in Pretoria, South Africa as the result of the 2015 Peace agreement’s collapse. Through concerted efforts by and calls from the SPLM/A (IO) diplomatic corps, the entire SPLM/A (IO) membership at home and  abroad, as well as other South Sudanese from all walks of life, this historic moment was made possible. Besides, the IGAD, under the leadership of Prime Minister Dr. Abiye Ahmed Ali, resolved to effectively allow Dr. Machar to fully and unconditionally participates in the ongoing peace negotiations in the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa due to these efforts.

This decision is merited and may as well be credited for whatever peace that might prevail in our country in the very near future. Furthermore, Prime Minister Abiye’s recent invitation of Dr. Machar to meet President Salva Kiir face-to-face to resolve the outstanding and contentious issues is inline with a series of wise and logical decisions that IGAD has taken in the last few months. By allowing the principals of the warring parties to sit and sift through their differences to address the root-causes and stop the war, IGAD has correctly diagnosed the problem and has set the negotiations on the right course. We would, therefore, like to express our gratitude to Prime Minister Abiye for his wise leadership and timely decision.

We would also like to thank the IGAD member states – particularly Sudan, which initiated the idea of the face-to-face meeting, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, among others, for their positive roles in and desire to finding a lasting solution in the conflict that has engulfed our country for the last 5 years and pre-independence. These countries have proven their long-standing friendship with the people of South Sudan. A friend in need is a friend, indeed, so goes the adage.

Finally, we would like to thank the Troika countries, led by the United States, in UK, and Norway. We also want to acknowledge the role China has played and continue to play in the conflict. Again, we are grateful and wish the two principals a successful deliberation, for blessed are peacemakers.

May God Bless the Republic of South Sudan!


Amb. Stephen Par Kuol – Chairman, SPLM/A (IO) National Committee for Foreign Relations.

Contact Dr. Isaac K. Gang, PhD (isaac.gang@gmail.com)

  1. Rep. Dr. Isaac K. Gang, SPLM (IO) Representative to the US
  2. Rep. Oryema James Emanuel, PLM (IO) Representative to Kenya
  3. Rep. Peter Ayul Nyidiing, SPLM (IO) Representative to Australia
  4. Rep. Kuajien Lual Wectour, SPLM (IO) Representative to Germany
  5. Rep. Bol Gatkuoth Chuol, SPLM (IO) Representative to Rwanda
  6. Rep. Sisto Olur, SPLM (IO) Representative to the UK
  7. Rep. Ambrose Lomin, SPLM (IO) Representative to Uganda
  8. Rep. Reat Nhial Tuany, SPLM (IO) Representative to Nigeria & ECOWAS
  9. Rep. Gatbang Riir puok, SPLM (IO) Representative to Sudan
  10. Rep. Cyril Joseph Garang, SPLM (IO) Representative to Canada
  11. Rep. Amos Adision Mangie Bousumo, SPLM (IO) Representative to DRC
  12. Rep. Dr. Tut Maluth, SPLM (IO) Representative to South Africa
  13. Rep. Ukuni Michael Paulino, SPLM (IO) Representative to the UN
  14. Rep. Jordan Manpiny Long, SPLM (IO) Representative to Ethiopia & AU
  15. Rep. Wesley Bokati Natana Abraham, SPLM (IO) Representative to Tanzania
  16. Rep. Yohannes Musa Puok, SPLM (IO) Representative to Qatar
  17. Rep. Faroud Gatkuoth, SPLM (IO) Representative to China
  18. Rep. Suliman Ali Dandara Dakoto, SPLM (IO) Representative to Libya
  19. Rep. Victoria Thomas Thot Ruot, SPLM (IO) Representative to Switzerland
  20. Rep. Claudio Francis Omdurman Udo, SPLM (IO) Representative to CAR
  21. Rep. Gatdet Bol Bangoang, SPLM (IO) Representative to Japan
  22. Rep. Gatkuoth Biel Nyang, SPLM (IO) Representative to Egypt
  23. Rep. Gatluak Pal Chuol, SPLM (IO) Representative to New Zealand
  24. Rep. David Luoy Top, SPLM (IO) Representative to Brazil
  25. Rep. Dr. Philip Gai Lony, SPLM (IO) Representative to Cuba
  26. Rep. Bapiny Tim Chol, SPLM (IO) Representative to Ireland
  27. Rep. Miyong G. Kuon, Former SPLM/A (IO) Representative to the UN

Related posts

Breaking News: Defecting Lul Ruai Koang Arrives in Juba


Salva Kiir: Forgive One Another And Come Together!


Message of Congratulation to First Vice President of the Republic of South Sudan Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon, Phd


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: