Latest News

SPLM-IO to nominate three state governors including for Upper Nile

Manawa Peter Gatkuoth, SPLM-IO Deputy Chairperson of National Committee for Information and Public Relations (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

March 5th 2020 (Nyamilepedia) – South Sudan’s main armed opposition group, SPLM-IO, has been given three state governors as parties seal deal to form the revitalized unity government, a senior opposition official said on Thursday.

The parties, senior officials said, agreed on Wednesday to divide the 35 ministries provided for in the revitalized peace deal.

The SPLM-IO led by Machar will nominate nine (9) ministers, including the defense and petroleum, and three deputy ministers, in accordance to the revitalized peace agreement.

Speaking to Nyamilepedia this afternoon, Manawa Peter Gatkuoth, the deputy chairperson of the SPLM-IO’s National Committee for Information and Public relations said the main armed opposition group has reached an agreement with President Salva Kiir’s group to nominate three governors.

“We have agreed with the government that the SPLM-IO nominate three governors of Upper Nile, Eastern Equatoria and Lakes states,” he said.

He further added that the government was ready to be formed saying most of the issues pending regarding the government formation were completed.

Related posts

Machar calls for new “page” of reconciliation in Christmas message


South Sudan Rebels Claim Upper Hand in a Week Long Fighting in Upper Nile


Top UN official in South Sudan Urges Accountability For Human Rights Violations


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: