Pre-transitional Committee to meet in Juba tomorrow

South Sudan’s pre-transitional committee meeting in the Sudanese capital Khartoum on Sunday, 21st October 2018 (File/Supplied?Nyamilepedia)

November 6th, 2018 (Nyamilepedia) – The National Pre-Transitional Committee (N-PTC) formed in September by President Salva Kiir Mayardit and Armed Opposition leader Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon will hold its second meeting on Wednesday in the capital Juba, the Nyamilepedia have learned.

The 10 – member National Pre-Transitional Committee is a body tasked with the oversight and implementation of the activities of the pre-transitional period.

The committee was formed in September by President Salva Kiir Mayardit two weeks after Kiir’s government and opposition groups signed the long-awaited revitalized peace arrangement.

The agreement was signed by the government, the SPLM-IO, South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA) along the former detainees and other political parties.

The government on Wednesday of last week conducted a “historic” peace celebration in the capital Juba and was attended by prominent opposition figures including the SPLM-IO leader Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon.

South Sudan descended into a bloody civil war in December 2013 following a flare-up of violence between presidential guards loyal to South Sudan president Salva Kiir, an ethnic Dinka, and some supporting Machar, an ethnic Nuer.

The fighting in the capital later spread to most parts of the country igniting 5 years long civil war in the world’s youngest nation.

Related posts

Kiir meets organizing committee for peace celebrations in Juba


South Sudan watchdog urges parties to reconstitute parliament


BREAKING: Peter Gatdet suspended from Opposition Alliance


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: