Ethiopia: New Agreement to Free Political Detainees

Within the ceasefire agreement the status of South Sudan political detainees was yesterday signed by rebels and government representatives as witnessed by IGAD mediators in the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa.

CeasefireScreen Shot 2014-01-23 at 8.22.23 PM

January 24, 2014[Addis Ababa] — According to the agreement, the political detainees are also vital in the peace dialogue hence their situation has to be considered by the government of President Salva Kiir.

This new development could see president Kiir at last releasing the former 10 cabinet ministers.

The ministers still under detention at national security headquarters at Jebel include; Gier Chuang Aluong (Roads and Bridges), Majak d’Agoot (Defense), Dr Cirino Hiteng (Culture, Children and sports), Deng Alor Kuor (cabinet affairs), John Luk Jok (Justice), Kosti Manibe (Finance and Economic Planning) and Madut Biar (Telecommunication and postal service).

Their role is vital and the president of United States of America, Barack Obama, has already called upon president Kiir’s government to release them so as to facilitate the dialogue.

Below is the signed agreement:




Related posts

South Sudanese Rebels Accuse Government of Ignoring Day-Old Cease-Fire


Kerry to Promote Peace, Sanctions in South Sudan


South Sudan crisis: Bentiu government offensive falters


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: