South Sudan’s Kiir dismiss four states governors citing no reasons

The incumbent, president Salva Kiir, one of the warlord turned president is at the center of the conflict....
President Salva Kiir speaking to the media at the state house J1 (File/Supplied/Nyamilepdia)

May 20th 2019 (Nyamilepedia) – South Sudan President, Salva Kiir Mayardiit, on Monday night dismissed four state governors replacing them with new officials.

The decree readout on the state-owned South Sudan Broadcasting Corporations (SSBC) saw the governors of Western Lakes, John Deng Mamer, and Aweil state, Jal Malith Jal, dismissed.

The President also dismissed the governor of Central Upper, James Tor Monybuny and the governor of Northern Upper Nile, Awer Dau Agany.

In a separate decree, Kiir appointed Mahmoud Solomon as the new governor of Western Lakes. He also appointed Tong Akeen Ngor as the new governor of Aweil state.

In Upper Nile’s Central and Norther states,  Kiir appointed Peter Chol Wal and Thon Bany Thon as the new governors respectively.

Related posts

Dr. Lam says unity gov’t formation depends on fate of outstanding issues


NAS denies accepting to initialize preliminary Khartoum peace deal


Machar, wife and opposition figures returns to Khartoum


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: