Latest News

South Sudan: Salva Kiir’s National Dialogue Does Not Include Other Stakeholders

Kiir Government has gone for more violations of the agreement
Gen. Salva Kiir Mayardit, the incumbent president of South Sudan(Photo: file)

Dec 20, 2016(Nyamilepedia) —— South Sudan’s incumbent President, Mr. Salva Kiir Mayardit, has issued a Republican Degree appointing himself as the head of a National Dialogue he announced in the parliament last week.

[ad name=”Google Ads 03″]

The President, who will supervise the dialogue as a Patron, has appointed 4 elderly politicians, three from his Dinka tribe to advise him. The advisors are:

  1. E Abel Alier-wal Kwai
  2. E Joseph Lagu
  3. Bona Malual Madut
  4. Francis Mading Deng

In addition to 4 advisors, the president has appointed two co-chairpersons and 24 members to compose a “Steering Committee” as follow:

  1. Emeritus Bishop Paride Taban – Co-chairperson
  2. Moses Machar Kachuol – Co-chairperson
  3. Simon Kun Puoch – Secretary
  4. Angelo Beda – Member
  5. George Kongor Arop
  6. Gen. Peter Cirillo Swaka
  7. Sultan Ismail Konyi
  8. Manasseh Magok Rundial
  9. Gen. (PSC) Andrew Makur Thou
  10. James Loro Sirisio
  11. Gen. (PSC) Albino Akol Akol
  12. Lubari Ramba Lokola
  13. Martha Moi
  14. Gabriel Yoal Dak
  15. Mathew Mathiang Deng
  16. Rachael Nyadak Paul
  17. Monica Ayen Maguat
  18. Emeritus Bishop Nathaniel Garang Anyieth
  19. Sheikh Juma Mussa
  20. Harun Ruun Lual
  21. Mary Furu
  22. Joseph Oryem Ismael
  23. Lucia Atilio
  24. Joseph Ukel Abango
  25. Mathew Pagan
  26. Luciano Thomas

President Kiir also appointed a “Secretariat” to the National Steering Committee to be led by Sudd Institute and Ebony Centre. Other stakeholders to be consulted during the dialogue include South Sudan Council of Churches, Center for Peace and Development Studies, South Sudan Islamic Council and South Sudan Islamic Council.

Salva Kiir also issued a decree appointing the following 5 experts to advise the National Dialogue Steering Committee

  1. A legal Expert, Prof. Dr. Bol Chol
  2. A Historian, Dr. Riak Gok Majok
  3. A Conflict Negotiation and Dialogue Expert, Dr. Samson Wassara, and
  4. Economists, Dr. Kuot Mawien Kuot and Dr. Adil Athnaziou Surur

Read on South Sudan TV, the decree is expected to take effect from December 19th, however, with many areas remaining under rebel control, many intellectuals doubt if this initiative bear any meaning.

President Salva Kiir appointed only people, who are loyal to his leadership and those who are living within the country.

Stakeholders from other political parties, armed groups, women groups and civil rights groups are not included in this appointment but are expected to join if they choose to do so.

[ad name=”match-content”]

Related posts

UJOSS launches new website

Staff Writer

I Pray that the year 2021 shall be a year of turning point in the History of my Country South Sudan


US Envoy: South Sudan Gov’t the Beneficiary to a Divided UNSC

Editorial Team.

Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: