Latest News

Potential picks for South Sudan’s four vice-presidents

South Sudan potential vice-presidents (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

August 12th 2019 (Nyamilepedia) – A South Sudanese opposition official who is a part of peace implementing delegates in Juba has revealed names of South Sudan’s four vice-presidents including those who would be nominated by opposition groups.

South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardiit and opposition leaders including Dr. Riek Machar Teny signed a revitalized version of a 2015 peace agreement in September last year to end the war.

The agreement stipulated that Salva Kiir be deputized by Machar as First Vice-President and four other vice-presidents.

Speaking to Nyamilepedia on Sunday, an opposition diplomat who is currently in Juba said in addition to FVP designate Machar, there has been an apparent consensus by the alliance to nominate Dr. Lam Akol Ajawin as vice-president representing SSOA.

The government will likely nominate the current FVP Taban Deng Gai and VP James Wani igga to two vice-president positions allocated to the government.

The former detainees will likely nominate Rebecca Garang because they have been conditioned their Vice-President position be occupied by a female candidate.

Below is the excpected list!

1 – FVP – Dr. Riek Machar (SPLM-IO)
2 – VP – Taban Deng Gai (TGONU)
3 – VP – Dr. Lam Akol Ajawin (SSOA)
4 – VP – James Wani Igga (TGONU)
5 – VP – Rebbeca Garang (FDs)

Related posts

Gov’t and opposition commanders recalled to Juba over Maiwut fighting


Dr. Machar Arrives in Nairobi, Kenya


Thomas Cirilo’s NAS denies killing civilians near Juba, says gov’t responsible


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: