Latest News

S. Sudan: Presidency meeting resolve to return country to 10 states

Three South Sudanese regions (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

February 15th 2020 (Nyamilepedia) – A South Sudan high-level meeting of the presidency has resolved to return the country to its previous ten states but with three administrative areas, a resolution of the meeting seen by Nyamilepedia said.

The issue has been one of the contentious issues affecting the implementation of the revitalized peace agreement. While the opposition insisted on the return of the country to its previous ten states, the government had been for the status quo.

During a meeting of the IGAD council of ministers in Addis Ababa last week, President Salva Kiir was given five days to decide on returning the country to ten states or establish 23 states.

The opposition has threatened to opt out of a unity government formation expected next month if the government failed to return the country to ten states.

The new decision however adds a new Ruweng Administrative Area (RAA) beside Abyei and Pibor. Ruweng is one of the controversial states bordering Unity states.

Related posts

IGAD tells Gatdet to relinquish SSOA leadership to Changson: Sources


Regional leaders gather in Juba for peace celebrations


Troika threatens it won’t accept unilateral actions that are against peace process


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: