Latest News

Equatoria conference recommends rotational presidency, federal system

Greater Equatoria regional conference (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

August 28th 2019 (Nyamilepedia) – The Greater Equatoria Conference of South Sudan National Dialogue has proposed a rotational presidency between the country’s three regions and a federal system of governance.

South Sudan has three greater regions. These are the Greater Equatoria, Greater Bahr el-Ghazal and Greater Upper Nile.

The current South Sudan President, Salva Kiir Mayardit is an ethnic Dinka from the country’s Bahr El-Ghazal region.

Speaking to Nyamilepedia on Tuesday, a representative of Jubek state in the conference said the conference has recommended a rotational presidency between the three regions.

Equatoria regional conference of National Dialogue is recommending rotating presidency between 3 colonial provinces of Bahr el-Ghazal, Equatoria, & Upper Nile,” the official who declined to be named told the Nyamilepedia Tuesday.

The official further said the conference has also recommended “a federal system of thirty-nine (39) states with each of the three colonial regions having thirteen (13) states.”

Related posts

Where is Lt. Gen. Alfred Lado Gore?


South Sudan Warns Trump Administration Not To Meddle And Obstruct Peace Process in South Sudan


BREAKING NEWS: Gen. Tanginye Kills In Amrah Battle, Northern Upper Nile


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: