Eastern Africa Law Enforcement News Peace Process South Sudan

Kiir, Kenyatta agrees to form border committee

South Sudan President, Salva Kiir, left, and his Kenyan counterpart, Uhuru Kenyatta, right appears at Kenyan state house (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

July 2nd 2019 (Nyamilepedia) – South Sudan President, Salva Kiir Mayardiit, and his Kenyan counterpart, Uhuru Kenyatta, have agreed to form a border committee to solve unfolding border conflict between the two countries.

This came after president Kiir and the Kenyan head of stare held bilateral talks at the state house in Nairobi on Monday.

Currently, an ethnic conflict is unfolding between ethnic communities in the oil-rich Elemi Triangle that straddles South Sudan, Kenya and Ethiopia. There has been clashes between the Toposa of South Sudan, the Turkana of Kenya and the Nyang’atom of Ethiopia.

Speaking following his meeting with Kiir, Kenyatta said the commission has been tasked to “guide amicable resolution of disputes that may arise over the shared border.”

The Kenyan leader added that a ministerial team had concluded a Memorandum of Understanding on definition and demarcation of common borders saying the framework “will provide the necessary guidelines for engagement on boundary matters.”

Related posts

JCE warns Kiir against reduction of states


Rebel group urges uprising against Kiir’s ‘tribal’ regime


Angong Dhol Acuil sworn in as Grade Three Ambassador


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: