Latest News

South Sudan: Troika won’t accept non-inclusive gov’t

Representatives of the TROIKA member countries (File photo)
Representatives of the TROIKA member countries (File photo)

February 11th 2020 (Nyamilepedia) – The Troika countries, United States, Norway and United Kingdom, have yesterday issued a statement saying they won’t accept a government that does not include all signatories to the revitalized peace agreement.

This come as the parties are facing a February 22 deadline in which they are expected to form the long-awaited Reconstituted Transitional Government of National Unity (R-TGoNU).

The parties have issued contradicting accounts of what would come on February 22. While the government says a unity government will be in place regardless of whatever issue is pending, the opposition says a unity government can not be formed without pre-transitional tasks in place.

This, the large South Sudan opposition says, is to ensure a peaceful and transitional transition and to avoid the repetition of 2016 scenarios in which fighting broke out at a presidential palace in Juba.

Below is the full Troika statement.

Troika Statement: Compromise Essential to Timely Formation of South Sudan’s Revitalized Transitional Government of National Unity

On February 8, Intergovernmental Authority on Development leaders met during the African Union summit to discuss the peace process in South Sudan. The Troika recognizes the serious efforts that the region has taken to unblock the current impasse and shares its frustration at the lack of progress.

With few days remaining until a power-sharing government is due to form, time has almost run out. We encourage all parties to exercise the spirit of political compromise at the heart of the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS) in these final days.

We urge the government of South Sudan and all opposition parties to work together to resolve issues blocking the formation of an inclusive national unity government by the February 22 deadline. A credible unity government needs to be inclusive as specified in the R-ARCSS and cannot be formed on the basis of unilateral action. Specifically, we encourage all sides, including the government, to reach consensus on a way forward on the number of states. Refusing to compromise and move forward undermines the agreement, risks the ceasefire, and erodes the trust of the public and the confidence of partners.

During this critical time, we urge all parties to continue to uphold and publicly commit to the permanent ceasefire, to instruct their forces to exercise restraint, and to avoid inflammatory statements. It is of fundamental importance to avoid a return to armed conflict with devastating consequences for the people of South Sudan and for the region as a whole.”

Related posts

Congratulatory Message for First Vice President Appointment


South Sudan: Renewed Offensives In Northern Upper Nile!


Fighting breaks out at Wau prison


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: