Latest News

S. Sudan parties seal deal to divide ministries, Kiir set to form gov’t

Photo: Kiir, Machar meeting in J1 yesterday

March 5th 2020 (Nyamilepedia) – South Sudan parties to the revitalized peace deal have sealed a deal to form the long-awaited Reconstituted Transitional Government of National Unity (R-TGoNU), officials involved in the weeks-long talks to divide ministries between the former foes told Nyamilepedia this morning.

A government official speaking to Nyamilepedia on condition of anonymity said from Juba that the parties have reached an agreement on who take what ministry.

Yes we have reached an agreement on the ministerial division and now it is up to the president of the Republic, Gen. Salva Kiir Mayardit to announce the formation of the revitalized TGoNU,” the government official said.

For his part, a top opposition official of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement in Opposition (SPLM-IO) led by First Vice-President Dr. Riek Machar Teny confirmed the development saying talks were successful and that an agreement was reached on Wednesday night.

Talks were successful and an agreement was reached and just expect the formation of the revitalized unity government anytime from today,” the opposition official said from Juba this morning.

According to the opposition official, the ministries between the parties as follow:

Defunct TGoNU

Kiir’s former TGoNU will take the Ministry of Presidential Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Ministry of Interior, Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Development, Ministry of National Security, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs,Ministry of Information, Communications and Postal Services, Ministry of East African Community, Ministry of Finance and Planning and Ministry of Trade and Industry.

It will also take the Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries, Ministry of Environment and Forestry, Ministry of Land, Housing and Urban Development, Ministry of Wildlife Conservation and Tourism, Ministry of Investment, Ministry of General Education and Instructions, Ministry of Public Service and Human Resources Development, Ministry of Roads and Bridges, Ministry of Culture, Museum and National Heritage and Ministry of Youth and Sports.

Kiir’s former government will as well appoint five deputy ministers as follow: Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security and Ministry of General Education and Instructions.


The main armed opposition group, SPLM-IO, led by First Vice-President Dr. Riek Machar Teny will take ministries of defense, petroleum, mining, federal affairs, water resources, energy & dams, gender, child & social welfare, health and general education.

The group will also take deputies of the ministries of cabinet affairs, interior, finance & planning.

South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA).

The alliance will take ministries of agriculture, labor and higher education. They will also one deputy minister of information.

Other Political Parties (OPP) will take ministry of humanitarian affairs and one deputy. For their part, the Former Detainees (FDs) will take ministry of cabinet affairs and ministry of transport.

Related posts

Ex-minister: Riek Machar is my first enemy and Taban is the second


South Sudan President Kiir Played Major Roles In Wau Death Toll, Western Bhar el Ghazal


Opposition group says not informed about ongoing IGAD consultations


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: