Breaking News News

BREAKING: Parties agree to establish 25 cantonment sites for opposition forces

SSPDF spokesman Maj. Gen. Lul Ruai Koang and his SPLA-IO counterparts Col. Lam Paul Gabriel (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

February 4th 2019 (Nyamilepedia) – South Sudan parties to the Joint Defense Board (JDB) have agreed to establish 25 cantonment sites for all opposition (SPLA-IO and SSOA) troops in the country.

According to a document obtained by the Nyamilepedia, the parties have agreed to establish 25 sites for opposition forces in nine former South Sudanese states as follow: Unity, Western Equatoria, Eastern Equatoria, Central Equatoria, Jonglei, Upper Nile, Western Bhar Al-Ghazal, Northern Bhar Al-Ghazal and Warrab.

An additional 15 sites will be established and designated during the second phase of the security arrangement to make a total of 40 sites for all opposition troops.

In Unity, the opposition will be based in Pakur, two kilometers west of Rubkona town, Mirmir, and Bong while government forces will based in Bentiu, Leer, Mayendit and Mayom.

In Western Equatoria, the opposition will base in Rirangu Sue in Yambio, and Ngiri while government forces will remain where they are now in Yambio town, Tambura, Mundri and Maridi.

In Central Equatoria, the opposition will base in Panyume, Wunaleit, Lobojo in Lobonok while government will base in Juba, Yei, Kajo-keji, Terekeka, Mogeri, Kaya and Thertenya.

In Eastern Equatoria, opposition forces will base in Ashwa in Pageri, Lorere/Nyara and Nawokitbong in Kapoeta. Government forces will stay in Torit, kapoeta, Magwe, Nimule, Ikotos, narus, New Site and New Kush.

In Jonglei state, opposition will base in Pulturuk, Pieri, Ker in Ayod, Dor in Fangak and Weibuony. Government troops will be cantoned in Malual Choat, Pibor, Likwangoli, Gumruk, Namam, Buma, Marroa, Kethngor, Pochalla, Duk, Ayod, Waat, Yuai, Pajut and Gadiang

In Upper Nile, the opposition troops will base in Torpuot, Turow, Wichpanyikang, Thuorgwang, Lieng or Khor Yabus while government troops will base in Malakal, Doleib, Nasir, galacel, Pagak, Renk, Lelo, Kodok, Kaka, Wadakona, Maban Poch, Gopa, Chatha, Jamam, Molbuok, Atam, Dukduk, Chumudi, Halga, Kuek, Gabat and Uwachi.

In Western Bahr Al-Ghazal, opposition troops will base in Dulu, Busheri while government forces will be in Wau town, Raja, Kitkit, Timza and Bor Madina.

In Northern Bahr Al-Ghazal and Warrab, opposition troops will have one cantonment in Malek Gumel while government will be in Aweil or Wunyik.

In total, the opposition will have 25 sites during the first phase of the implementation of the security arrangement. The government will maintain 68 barracks across the country.

The SPLA-IO deputy spokesman Col. Lam Paul Gabriel who is in Juba said in a statemment that each cantonment sites will have a “maximum of 3,750 combatants and a minimum of not less than a force of a battalion.”

Related posts

Rebel group urges uprising against Kiir’s ‘tribal’ regime


South Sudan gov’t troops abduct rebel officer’s family in Unity state


SSPDF general alleged to have been killed by SPLM-IO soldiers rubbishes the claims


1 comment

Opposition troops assembles near Mayom – spokesman – Nyamilepedia February 18, 2019 at 10:44 pm

[…] this months, South Sudan parties to the Joint Defense Board (JDB) agreed to establish 25 cantonment sites for all opposition (SPLA-IO and SSOA) troops in the country while 15 other sites would be […]


Tell us what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: