Machar dissolves 21 states ahead of unity gov’t formation

Photo: SPLM-IO leader Dr. Riek Machar speaks during a peace ceremony in Juba, South Sudan on October 31, 2018 | Credit: AKUOT CHOL/AFP via Getty Images

February 21st 2020 (Nyamilepedia) – South Sudan’s main armed opposition leader Dr. Riek Machar Teny has dissolved the opposition 21 federal states which he created in 2015.

Machar, who is to be appointed later today as first vice president, made the order as he and President Salva Kiir Mayardit are set to form the long-delayed unity government.

“As we agreed with the president, South Sudan has reverted to ten states, the 21 states are hereby dissolved with effect from 22nd February 2020,” Machar said in the order directed to all opposition governors of the 21 federal states.

Leave a Reply