Kiir proposes 24 states plus Abyei area

A look of South Sudan's 32 states ....

A look of South Sudan’s 32 states ….

February 14th 2020 (Nyamilepedia) – South Sudan president Salva Kiir has proposed 24 states plus the disputed region of Abyei, sources attending the consultative meeting in Juba said this afternoon.

One source said the head of state tabled that nine states be removed and the country establish 24 states plus Abyei.

“The president has proposed that the country have 24 states. The states to be removed includes 1. Southern Liech State 2. Akobo State 3. Terekeka State 4. Amadi State 5. Maiwut State 6.Tombura State 7.Lol State 8. Twic State 9. Gok state,” the source said.

Another source said the president said the states that will remain will be as following:

  1. Bieh State 2. Fangak State 3. Jongle State 4. Boma State 5. Liech State 6. Central Upper Nile State 7. Fashoda State 8. Latjor State 9. Northern Upper Nile 10. Ruweng State 11. Eastern Lakes State 12. Western Lakes State 13. Aweil East State 14. Aweil State 15. Gogrial State 16. Tonj State 17. Wau State 18. Raja State 19. Jubek State 20. Yei State 21. Torit State 22. Kapoeta State 23. Yambio State 24. Maridi State 25. Abyei Administrative Area

Leave a Reply