Sudanese PM Hamdok forms civilian government

Sudanese Prime Minister Dr. Abdalla Hamdok (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

September 5th 2019 (Nyamilepedia) – Sudan’s newly appointed Prime Minister Dr. Abdalla Hamdok has finally unveiled his government after almost a month of extensive talks with protest group, Forces for Freedom and Change (FFC).

The protest group ousted the country’s long-time military dictator Omar al-Bashir who came into power in a bloodless coup thirty years ago.

Dr. Hamdok, a former UN official who took oath of office following his nomination by the protest group in August announced his cabinet during a press conference in the Sudanese capital Khartoum.

The 18-member cabinet includes Ibrahim El-Badawi, a former world banker, and three women one of whom has made history as the country’s first female foreign minister.

Also among those appointed is General Gamal Omar who was a member of the Transitional Military Council (TMC) which ruled the country following al-Bashir’s ouster in April this year.

Below is the list of the new cabinet.

1 .Minister of Cabinet Affairs – Omar Bashir Manis 2. Minister of Defence – Gamal-Eddin Omar 3. Minister of Interior – Al-Traifi Idris 4. Minister of Justice – Nasr-Eddin Abdel-Bari 5. Minister of Foreign Affairs – Asmaa Mohammed Abdallah 6. Minister of Finance – Ibrahim Mohammed Al-Badawi 7. Minister of Health – Akram Ali Al-Tom 8. Minister of Education – Mohammed Al-Amin Al-Tom 9. Minister of Industry and Trade – Madeni Abbas Madeni 10. Minister of Labour – Lina Sheikh Mahjoub 11. Minister of Higher Education – Intisar Soghayroun 12. Minister of Information and Culture – Faisal Mohammed Saleh 13. Minister of Federal Governance – Yusuf Adam Al-Dai 14. Minister of Agriculture – Issa Osman Sherif 15. Minister of Irrigation and Water Resources – Yasser Abbas Mohammed 16. Minister of Youth and Sports– Walaa Al-Bushi 17. Minister of Religious Affairs – Nasr-Eddin Mufarah 18. Minister of Energy and Mining – Adil Ali Ibrahim The appointment of the Cabinet is part of part of a power-sharing deal between the military, civilian parties and protest leaders.

Leave a Reply