Sudan’s al-Burhan dissolves military junta, forms Sovereignty Council

Chairman of Sudan’s Transitional Military Council (TMC), General Abdel Fatah al-Burhan (File/Supplied/Nyamilepedia)

August 20th 2019 (Nyamilepedia) – Sudan’s head of the ruling Transitional Military Council (TMC) Abdel Fatah al-Burhan has issued a Republican order dissolving the TMC.

The military leader issued another order forming the long-awaited Sovereignty Council (SC).

The council will be headed by al-Burhan himself and deputized by General Mohamed Hamdan Daglo, his current deputy, who commands the Rapid Support Forces (RSF).

The membership from the military will also include General Shams al-Din Kabashi, General Yasir Atta and General Ibrahim Gaber.

From the civilian members, the Council will include Hassan Mohamed Idriss, Siddig Tawer Kafi, Mohamed Al-Faki Suleiman, Mohamed Hassan al-Ta’ashi, Aisha Musa al-Sa’id and Rijaa Nickola Abdel Mesiah.

Al-Burhan will take oath before the Chief Justice as the head of Sovereignty Council at 11:00AM on Wednesday and the rest of the members will take oath before him later in the afternoon.

The  Prime Minister Abdallah Hamdok will be appointed Wednesday afternoon and will take oath of office in the evening.


Leave a Reply